NEBOSH National General Certificate

NEBOSH Diplomas 

NEBOSH Certificates 

NEBOSH Awards 

NVQ Health & Safety 

IOSH Certificates 

IEMA Certificates 

CIEH Awards 

CQI Certificate 

Institute of Acoustics 

CITB Site Safety Plus 

CCNSG Safety Passports 

ISO 9001 14001 & 18001 

Online Short Courses 

RRC Certified Courses 

NEBOSH National General Certificate

NEBOSH National General Certificate in Occupational Safety and Health

 provides an excellent foundation in occupational safety and health. It helps its holders manage risk effectively by covering a broad range of topics, and is ideal for:
  • Managers, supervisors and employee representatives.
  • Those looking to start a career in health and safety. 

The NEBOSH Certificate is widely respected by employers and meets the requirements for Technician Membership of IOSH (Tech IOSH) and Associate Membership of IIRSM (AIIRSM).


NEBOSH National General Certificate

is made up of three units:
  • Unit NGC1: Management of Health and Safety

    • Foundations in Health and Safety
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Policy
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Organising
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Planning
    • Health and Safety Management Systems - Measuring, Audit and Review

    Assessed by a 2 hour written exam

  • Unit GC2: Control of Workplace Hazards

    • Workplace Hazards and Risk Control
    • Transport Hazards and Risk Control
    • Musculoskeletal Hazards and Risk Control
    • Work Equipment Hazards and Risk Control
    • Electrical Safety
    • Fire Safety
    • Chemical and Biological Health Hazards and Risk Control
    • Physical and Psychological Health Hazards and Risk Control

    Assessed by a 2 hour written exam

  • Unit GC3: Health and Safety Practical Application

    Assessed by a 2 hour practical assessment, undertaken in your workplace

To achieve the NEBOSH National General Certificate you must complete all 3 units within 5 years.

If you have been awarded the NEBOSH National Construction Certificate or NEBOSH National Fire Certificate in the last 5 years you will be exempt from Unit NGC1 and can simply 'top up' by completing Unit GC2 and the practical assessment (Unit GC3). 


Units NGC1 and GC2 of the NEBOSH National General Certificate are each assessed by one two-hour written exam. Unit GC3 is assessed by a two-hour practical assessment carried out in your workplace.

  • Over 150 exam venue worldwide
  • UK Exam Venues; London, Birmingham, Chorley, Glasgow, Newcastle
  • Exams held March, June, September and December each year
Book Now
Call Now
  • Direct Line +44 208 944 3100
  • UK Freephone 0800 756 9410
  • Skype rrctraining
Email Us
Contact Us
Submit Your Enquiry
Quick Links
RRC Offices/Partners
Cookies on the RRC website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you fullest experience on our website and to enable online purchasing and participation in our courses. If you continue we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the RRC website. However, if you would like to, you can find out more about our use of cookies at any time.